American Society of Emergency Radiology
Annual Update Meeting
Thursday, September 30, 2020 • 5:00 – 5:45 PM
Virtual Meeting
Minutes



Virtual Meeting Attendees: Executive Committee, Committee Chairs, Members, Non-Members Veritas: Gina Baxter, Executive Director, Sue O'Sullivan, Managing Director

I Welcome and Call to Order - Ron Bilow

Welcome and appreciation to all who are participating during a very difficult pandemic year. Reminder that this is an update, so that non-members can attend as well as members and that any relevant voting (minutes) would be requested of members only.

II Approval of 2019 Business Meeting Minutes – Ron Bilow (Voting Members Only)

Minutes were posted on the website in advance of the meeting. The motion to approve was seconded and passed unanimously.

III State of the Society - Ron Bilow

Ron Bilow reviewed the following activities and actions for ASER during the previous year:

- Adoption of an SPR Liaison position
- Modified Membership Categories and economically sensitive fee structure
- Travel Grant and Trainee Awards to Annual Meeting
- Restructuring of Scientific and Educational Awards
- Response to new PHI disclosure risks
- Improved Quality and Frequency of the ASER Newsletter
- Affiliated Societies moving in line to same 5-year renewal cycle
- ASER MemberClicks Forums on our www.aser.org
- COVID-19 Task Force products
- Anti-racism Task Force
- Cobranding with ASSR and STR
- Online Educational Content increased, including 2019 annual meeting videos
- Participation in WFER
- ERad Fellowships joining the match
- Intergalactic Monthly webinar conference
- CT Guidelines Task Force

IV Tribute to Kathirkamanathan Shanmuganathan, MBBS: in Memoriam – Krystal Archer-Arroyo, Mark Bernstein, Clint Sliker

V Expressed Appreciation to Executive Committee - Ron Bilow

4445

42

43

7 8 9

1011

12 13

14

15

16 17

18

19

20

2122

23

24

25

26

2728

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

394041

51 Mentoring program: 80 Mentees, 20 Mentors 52 27 Countries represented 53 54 VIII Treasurer's Report – Jamlik-Omari Johnson 55 Jamlik-Omari Johnson reviewed the society's finances and reported the following: 56 \$883,740 in assets comprised of cash and investments 57 \$592,725 in revenues, exceeding expenses for both the meeting and operations 58 2019 meeting revenues were \$390,487, supported by a record exhibitor and corporate sponsorship of 59 \$125,000. Net income after meeting expenses was \$87,461. 60 61 IX 2021 Meeting Announcement – Jorge Soto 62 63 **X Committee Reports – Committee Chairs** 64 a. ASER Journal Update - Ron Zagoria 65 **b.** Grant Committee – Jorge Soto (on behalf of C. Craig Blackmore) **c.** Research Committee – Martin Gunn 66 67 **d.** Corporate Support Committee Report - Krystal Archer Arroyo 68 e. Membership Committee – Nicholas M. Beckmann 69 **f.** Bylaws Committee – Robin Levenson 70 g. Core Curriculum Committee – Vincent Mellnick 71 h. Maintenance of Certification Committee – Scott Steenburg 72 i. Resident Education Committee – Jennifer Uyeda 73 j. Scientific Program Subcommittee – Tarek Hanna 74 **k.** Website & Social Media Committee – Tarek Hanna 75 76 XI New Business – Ron Bilow 77 78 XII Introduction of approved 2020 EC Slate of Officers – Ron Bilow Jorge Soto, MD – President 79 80 Joel Gross, MD – President-Elect 81 Jamlik-Omari Johnson, MD – Second Vice President 82 Suzanne Chong, MD, MS – Treasurer 83 Martin Gunn, MBChB, FRANZCR- Secretary 84 Ron Bilow, MD – Past President 85 Clint Sliker, MD – 2021 Program Chair 86 Mark Bernstein, MD – ACR Councilor 87 O. Clark West, MD – ACR Alternate Councilor 88 Ferco Berger, MD – Director-At-Large Felipe Munera, MD – Director-At-Large 89 90 Krystal Archer-Arroyo, MD – Director-At-Large 91 Scott Steenburg, MD – Director-At-Large

VI Appreciation to Committee Chairs and Committees - Ron Bilow

Registrant Total: 489 (221 members, 58 MIT, 173 Non-Members, 37 Fellows

VII ASER 2019 Meeting Update – Suzanne Chong

XIII Official President Transition - Ron Bilow/Jorge Soto

Reg numbers, basic stats:

46

47 48

49

50

92 93

94

95 XII Adjournment – Jorge Soto
96
97 Respectfully submitted,
98 Gina Baxter
99 ASER Executive Director