Renew Dues   |   Donate   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
ASER 2017 Annual Meeting Awards

September 6–9, 2017
THe Hilton Toronto
Toronto, Ontario, canada

Harris Award 
Michael Adam, MD, UT Houston Medical Foundation for
Second Interpretations of Outside Cervical Spine CT's in a Trauma Transfer Setting at a Level 1 Trauma Center: Do Interpretation Discrepancies Affect Clinical Course?

The best oral presentation of original research by a trainee may be considered for the John H. Harris, MD Award. Presenters must be in an accredited radiology teaching program. The recipient will receive a plaque and $200. 

Novelline Award 
Joshua Cornman-Homonoff, MD, New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center for
MR Findinig in Female Pelvic Emergencies

The best educational poster presentation by a trainee may be considered for the Robert A. Novelline, MD Award. Presenters must be in an accredited radiology teaching program. The recipient will receive a plaque and $200. 


Paper Presentation Winners

Summa Cum Laude
Tarek Hanna, MD, Emory University School of Medicine, for
Up All Night: The Effect of Fatigue From Overnight Shifts on Radiology Search Patterns

Magna Cum Laude
Aaron D. Sodickson, MD, PhD, FASER, Brigham and Women's Hospital, for
Prior Imaging Findings are a Strong Predictor of Obstructive Uropathy on Emergency Ureter CT

Cum Laude
Sabarish Narayanasamy, MD, The Ottawa Hospital, for
Perforated Appendicitis: Improved Diagnostic Accuracy of MDCT Using a Newly Described Sign - Focal Inflammation Adjacent to the Wall

Certificate of Merit 
Tony Trinh, MD, Brigham and Women's Hospital, for 
Dual Energy CT for Opportunistic Bone Mineral Density Screening: Identifying Patients at Risk for Fragility Fractures


Poster Presentation Winners

Summa Cum Laude
Jeffrey Shyu, MD, MPH, Brigham and Women's Hospital, for
How to Do It: Quality and Process Improvement in Emergency Radiology

Magna Cum Laude
Kiran Maddu, MBBS, Emory University School of Medicine, for
Bariatric Surgery: Review of Post Surgical Anatomy and Acute Complications

Cum Laude
Annalice Chang, MD, Yale University School of Medicine, for 
The Forgotten Right Lower Quadrant Organ: Acute Pathologies of the Cecum

Certificate of Merit 
Lauren Saling, MD, Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, for 
Emergent Presentations of Colorectal Cancer


Cases-of-the-Day Winner
Matthew Shapiro, MD
Augusta Health
Fishersville, VA

2017 ASER Fellows:
Sanjeev Bhalla, MD
Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology
St. Louis, MO

Michele H. Johnson, MD, FACR
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT


The ASER Gratefully Acknowledges the Support of the Following Companies:


GE Healthcare
Philips Healthcare
Siemens Healthineers
Toshiba America Medical Systems, Inc.


Envision Physician Services
GE Healthcare
International Medical Solutions
Philips Healthcare
Radiology Partners
Siemens Healthineers



CME Credits by Modality
To download a spreadsheet detailing the various modalities covered in the ASER Annual Meeting presentations, please click here. For reporting purposes, please note that 1 hour of instruction is equal to 1 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. Credits are rounded to the nearest .25 (15 minutes).

About the ASER Annual Scientific Meeting...
The first annual meeting of the society was held in Boston in 1990. The Annual Scientific Meeting has proven to be the open forum for radiologists, emergency physicians, trauma surgeons, technologists, and others interested in providing innovative solutions in the emergency setting. More than two hundred professional registrants attend. The proceedings are published and CME credit is provided.

 Annual Meeting Archive

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal