Renew Dues   |   Donate   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
ASER 2008 Meeting Awards

Wednesday – Saturday, October 1– 4, 2008
InterContinental Houston Hotel

Houston, Texas


ASER 2008 Annual Meeting Awards:

Harris Award 
Benjamin B. Lange, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA, for Are Cervical Spine Plain Films Useful in Patients with Low Clinical Suspicion of Cervical Spine Fracture? - Experience with 254 Cases



Scientific Abstract Winners

Summa Cum Laude
Stephan W. Anderson, MD, Boston University Medical Center, Boston, MA, for Abdominal 64-MDCT for Suspected Appendicitis Diverticulitis and Small Bowel Obstruction: Results of a Prospective Randomized Study Comparing Use of Oral and IV Contrast Versus IV Contrast Only

Magna Cum Laude
Aaron Sodickson, MD, PhD, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, MA, for Improved Pulmonary Artery Enhancement in 64-Slice CTPA with Reduced Volume IV Contrast Injected at a High Flow Rate with Saline Flush

Cum Laude
Allen Cohen, MD, University of California, Irvine, Orange, CA, for CT Evaluation of the Placenta

Leonard E. Swischuk, MD, The University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX, for Lymphoid Hyperplasia of the Appendix: Its Role in Acute Purulent Appendicitis



Scientific Exhibit Winners

Summa Cum Laude
Laura L. Gillihan, MD, Texas Tech UHSC-El Paso, El Paso, TX, for Pictorial Review: Characteristic Ultrasound Findings in Acute Scrotal Pathology Presenting from the ED

Magna Cum Laude
Rathachai Kaewlai, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA, for 
MDCT of Diaphragmatic Trauma

Cum Laude
Hemant Shah, MD, Aurora St. Luke's Medical Center, Milwaukee, WI, for A More Rigorous Clinical Algorithm for the Management of Suspected Pulmonary Embolism in Emergency Room Patients to Reduce Diagnostic Imaging without Decreasing Sensitivity



Case of the Day Winner
Douglas Katz, MD
Winthrop-University Hospital
Mineola, NY

2008 ASER Fellows:
Dominic Barron, FRCR
Leeds Teaching Hospitals
Leeds, West Yorkshire

Mats Beckman, MD
Karolinska Hospital
Stockholm, Sweden

Mark P. Bernstein, MD
New York University School of Medicine
NYU Langone Medical Center/Bellevue Hospital
New York, NY

Joel A. Gross, MD
University of Washington
Harborview Medical Center
Seattle, WA

Gold Medalist:
Carlos J. Sivit, MD
Case Western Reserve School of Medicine
Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital 
Cleveland, OH

Founders Lecturer: 
Diego B. Nuñez, MD
Yale University
Hospital of St. Raphael
New Haven, CT



The ASER Gratefully Acknowledges the Support 
of the Following Companies:


 Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals

 GE Healthcare

 Toshiba America Medical Systems

Elsevier Inc.
Fischer Medical Technologies, Inc.
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Lodox Systems, NA, LLC
NightHawk Radiology Services
Thales Components Corporation
Toshiba America Medical Systems
Visage Imaging



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal